Cultural Vistas Welcomes 2021 Alumni Council

Washington D.C. (March 30, 2021) – Cultural Vistas is pleased to announce its newly-expanded Alumni Council for 2021-2022.

The Cultural Vistas Alumni Council is made up of a dedicated group of 12 experienced and established alumni ambassadors who understand the critical importance of exchanging ideas and collaborating across national boundaries in today’s global workplace. The group represents six different Cultural Vistas-managed exchanges and spans four decades of U.S. and international programming.

“Our vast network of Alumni continue to make an impact on communities across the globe,” said Cultural Vistas President and CEO Jennifer Clinton. “We are incredibly honored to have such a prestigious line up of individuals willing to volunteer their time and energy to helping Cultural Vistas continue to deliver on its mission of crafting global leaders.”

Cultural Vistas is pleased to welcome five new members to the Council this year in Lela Akiashvili (Edmund S. Muskie Internship Program, 2018), Andrew Bogrand (Alfa Fellowship Program 2014-15), Dominick D. Kennerson (Robert Bosch Foundation Fellowship 2010-11), Eva Poppe (CBYX, 2002-03) and Angie Schmidt Whitney M.A. (CBYX 1999-00).

Continuing their work with the body in 2021 are Liudmila Batista (Robert Bosch Foundation Fellowship, 2018-19), Paul Coraggio (CBYX 2013-14), Nancy Mancilla (CBYX, 1999-00), Sam Schatz (Alfa Fellowship Program, 2011-12) and the Honorable John P. Schmitz (1984-85). Co-chairs Mariana Martinez (Welcoming Communities Transatlantic Exchange, 2016) and Ricardo Vanella (International Visitor Leadership Program, 2010) also continue to serve in their roles.

The Cultural Vistas Alumni Council was initiated in 2017 to strengthen the connections between the organization and its ever-growing American and international alumni communities, and to raise the visibility of the Cultural Vistas Alumni Network on a national and international scale.

The Council is an all-volunteer body with membership terms lasting for at least one year. Membership is reviewed on an annual basis, however, nominations and/or statements of interest from alumni are encouraged and reviewed on a rolling basis.

Learn more about the Cultural Vistas Alumni Network and the Council by visiting:

Meet Our 2021 Cultural Vistas Alumni Council

Lela Akiashvili
Global Development Specialist
Edmund S. Muskie Internship Program, 2018

Liudmila Batista
Attorney, U.S. Department of Justice
Robert Bosch Foundation Fellowship Program (2018-19)

Andrew Bogrand
Alfa Fellowship Program (2014-15)

Paul Coraggio
MSN Candidate, Johns Hopkins University
Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange for Young Professionals (2013-14)

Dominick Kennerson
Bayer G4A
Robert Bosch Foundation Fellowship Program (2007-08)

Nancy Mancilla
ISOS Group, Co-Founder; President and Chief Executive Officer
Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange for Young Professionals (1999-00)

Mariana C. Martinez | Co-Chair
Michigan Nonprofit Association
Welcoming Communities Transatlantic Exchange (2017)

Eva Poppe
Unity Technologies
Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange for Young Professionals (2002-03)

Sam Schatz
AeroFarms, Managing Director, Corporate Development
Alfa Fellowship Program (2011-12)

Angie Schmidt Whitney M.A.
Congress-Bundestag Youth Exchange for Young Professionals (1999-00)
College of Saint Benedict and Saint John’s University

John P. Schmitz
Managing Director, Prime Policy Group
Robert Bosch Foundation Fellowship Program (1984-85)

Ricardo Vanella | Co-Chair
Strategic International Consultant
International Visitor Leadership Program (2010)